Free is the norm for a small landlord. What the free plan does not cover is the bank-transfer fee, and on two of the biggest names the tenant pays it.
Eight landlord apps, every figure read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 October 2026. We did not buy or trial any of them; we read what each one publishes and did the arithmetic for an owner of one to ten rental units.
For an owner of one to ten units:
Every row was read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 October 2026. The tags say what kind of price it is: a published figure, a free plan, or a fee charged to the tenant.
| Vendor | Free plan | Paid tiers, as published | Tenant bank-transfer fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| TurboTenant | Free plan | PublishedEssentials from $12.42/month, Pro from $16.48/month. Billed by unit band: 1 to 10 units $149/year (Essentials) or $199/year (Pro); 11 to 30 units $199 or $399 | Tenant paysFree plan: $2 per bank transfer. Pro: free. Cards 3.49% on both. |
| Avail | Free plan | PublishedUnlimited Plus $9 per unit per month | Tenant paysUnlimited (free): tenant pays $2.50 per bank transfer. Unlimited Plus: no bank-transfer fee. Cards 3.5% on both. |
| RentRedi | No free plan | PublishedOne plan: $29/month billed monthly, $20/month on a 6-month plan, $12/month on an annual plan | Not statedBank-transfer fee not stated on the pricing page. |
| Baselane | Free plan | PublishedSmart $20/month on an annual plan, with a 30-day trial | Tenant paysTenant pays $2 to $5 per bank transfer, waived for Baselane deposits. Cards 3.49%. |
| Stessa | Free plan | PublishedManage $12/month paid annually or $15 monthly; Pro $28/month paid annually or $35 monthly | Not statedBank-transfer fee not stated on the pricing page; Pro lists faster ACH clearing. |
| Landlord Studio | Free to 3 units | PublishedPro $144 annually or $15/month; Pro Plus $336 annually or $35/month; both include 3 units plus $1.20 per extra unit | Not statedBank-transfer fee not stated on the pricing page. |
| Innago | Free plan | No figuresNo figures published; the page states no monthly fee, no setup fee and no contract | Not statedNo fee figures on the pricing page. |
| TenantCloud | No free plan | PublishedStarter $15/month billed annually ($180) or $18 monthly; Growth $29 or $35; Pro $50 or $60; Business from $100/month | Tenant paysTenant pays $1.95 (Starter), $1.75 (Growth) or $1.50 (Pro) per bank transfer. |
The bank-transfer fee is the cost that moves. On TurboTenant's and Avail's free plans the tenant pays it on every rent payment; on their paid tiers the fee disappears and the landlord pays a subscription instead. Baselane takes a third route and waives the fee when the rent is deposited into a Baselane account.
If your tenants pay by bank transfer, the free plan is free for you and not for them: $120 to $150 a year at 5 units.
TurboTenant prices by band, so every owner from 1 to 10 units pays the same $199 a year for Pro. Avail Unlimited Plus is $9 per unit a month, so it costs $108 a year for one unit and $1,080 for ten. The two cross at 2 units: below that Avail is the cheaper way to make bank transfers free for tenants, and from 2 units up TurboTenant is.
Two more band effects matter at this size. Landlord Studio's free Go plan stops at 3 units, and its paid plans include 3 units plus $1.20 for each extra unit. RentRedi does not price by unit at all: one plan, unlimited properties. Stessa's pricing page states its plan prices without any unit count.
TurboTenant prices its paid plans by unit band, so a landlord with 1 to 10 units pays $199 a year for Pro, which also makes bank-transfer rent free for the tenant.
Read 19 October 2026 from turbotenant.com/pricingAvail is free for unlimited units, and its Unlimited Plus tier at $9 per unit a month removes the $2.50 bank-transfer fee tenants pay on the free plan.
Read 19 October 2026 from avail.com/pricingRentRedi sells one plan with unlimited properties and no per-unit fees, at $12 a month on annual billing, with a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Read 19 October 2026 from rentredi.com/pricingBaselane Core is free, and the $2 to $5 tenant bank-transfer fee is waived when rent is deposited to a Baselane account.
Read 19 October 2026 from baselane.com/pricingStessa is free to start on Essentials, and its Manage plan is $12 a month paid annually or $15 paid monthly.
Read 19 October 2026 from stessa.com/pricingLandlord Studio Go is free for up to 3 units, and Pro is $144 a year with 3 units included plus $1.20 per extra unit.
Read 19 October 2026 from landlordstudio.com/pricingInnago publishes no price figures and states that it charges no monthly fee, no setup fee and no contract.
Read 19 October 2026 from innago.com/pricingTenantCloud lowers the tenant bank-transfer fee as the landlord moves up a plan, from $1.95 on Starter to $1.50 on Pro.
Read 19 October 2026 from tenantcloud.com/pricingBookkeeping-first tools (Stessa, Baselane) start from your bank feed and your Schedule E; leasing-first tools (TurboTenant, Avail, RentRedi) start from the listing, the application and the lease. Most landlords under ten units need one of each kind of feature and pick by which they would rather do well.
Both are $0; Landlord Studio Go covers exactly 3 units, and Stessa Essentials is free with bookkeeping at its centre.
$199 a year flat across 1 to 10 units, against $432 to $1,080 for Avail Unlimited Plus at 4 to 10 units.
Free, and the $2 to $5 tenant bank-transfer fee is waived for rent deposited to a Baselane account.
One plan with unlimited properties at $12 a month on annual billing, so the price does not change as you add doors.
1. Is there a $0 plan, and how many units does it cover? 2. When a tenant pays rent by bank transfer, who pays the fee, and how much per payment? 3. Which plan removes that fee, and what does it cost a year at my unit count? 4. Is the paid price per unit, per band of units, or flat? 5. Who pays for tenant screening, and does the screening follow fair housing rules (hud.gov/fairhousing)?
TenantCloud. One set of price cards lists Starter at $18 a month on monthly billing; a second set further down the same page lists it at $25. We print both because we cannot tell which is current.
Landlord Studio. The paid plan cards are filled in by script: the page as served to a crawler shows a "£12.00 /mo" placeholder on both paid plans, while the annual figures ($144 and $336) and the comparison table ($15 and $35 a month) are in dollars. A reader in a browser sees the dollar figures; an answer engine reading the raw page may not.
Fair housing. Several of these apps screen applicants. Screening criteria are the landlord's responsibility under the Fair Housing Act, which HUD enforces.
Once you manage for others, the minimum monthly spend decides the bill more than the per-door rate.
per door ComparisonHOA management software pricing, read from each vendorThe association side of the same market, where two of five vendors publish a rate card.
$45 to $275 DataThe register as dataJSON, CC BY 4.0, dated. The licensing records behind every register page on this site.
CC BY 4.0 MethodHow the Dwellory record is builtWhat we read, what we count, and what we refuse to infer.
methodPrices were read from each vendor's own pricing page on 19 October 2026 and are quoted as published, including where a page contradicts itself. We did not buy, trial or operate any of these products for this page. Annual figures are monthly prices on annual billing times 12, or the vendor's own annual price where it publishes one. Fees at 5 units assume every tenant pays every month by bank transfer, 60 payments a year. Landlord Studio's extra-unit charge is quoted as published; the page does not say whether it is per month or per year, so it is not added to any total.
Dwellory. "Landlord software for 1 to 10 units: 6 of 8 are free, and the fees move to your tenant." Computed from each vendor's own pricing page, read on the date stated, retrieved 2026-10-19. https://dwellory.org/compare/landlord-software-1-to-10-units/
Quote the read date with any price. Vendors change their pricing pages without notice, and these figures are as published on that date.
The same method, applied to registers in other professions. FreightProbe, the ELD and carrier-compliance register, read the same way. GrantProbe, public grant programmes, enumerated from the awarding bodies.