Headline rates run from $1 to $5 a door. Below the break-even door count, every vendor that publishes a minimum charges you the minimum instead.
Six vendors a small property management company shortlists, priced from their own pages on 19 October 2026. Where a vendor publishes a rate and a minimum, the per-door cost at your size is arithmetic, and we did it. Where it publishes less, we say what is missing.
To price property management software at your door count:
| Vendor | What is published | Missing or extra |
|---|---|---|
| Buildium | PublishedEssential from $62/month, Growth from $192/month, Premium from $400/month; 14-day trial | Incoming EFT $2.35 (Essential), $1.35 (Growth), first 12 months free then $0.60 (Premium); $99 per business bank account on Essential. |
| AppFolio | Partly, then quoteCore $1.49, Plus $3.20, Max $5.00 per unit a month; minimum spend and 50 unit minimum apply; Get a Quote | The minimum spend is not stated, so no bill below or at 50 units can be computed. |
| DoorLoop | Published$2.50 per unit a month, $1.50 per unit above 100, minimum $199 a month (yearly billing); $3.00, $1.80 and $239 on monthly billing. Connect and Multiply: $4.00 / $5.00 per unit, minimums $299 / $399 yearly | Connect adds free incoming ACH payments. |
| Rentvine | Partly, then quoteAs low as $1.50 per unit; Request Pricing; one-time setup fee for migration and onboarding, amount not stated | The full price is quoted on request, and the setup fee amount is not stated. |
| Rentec Direct | PublishedRentec Starter $25/month flat for up to 10 properties; Rentec Pro and Rentec PM from $50/month billed annually; two-week free trial | Above 10 properties the price comes from an on-page calculator, not a printed table. |
| Yardi Breeze | PublishedBreeze $1 per unit, $100 minimum a month; Breeze Premier $1 per unit, $400 minimum; annual agreement | No onboarding, training or support fees, per the page. |
| Plan, rate and minimum | 50 doors | 150 doors | 400 doors | Rate applies from |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DoorLoop One$2.50 per unit a month, $1.50 per unit above 100, minimum $199 a month (yearly billing); $3.00, $1.80 and $239 on monthly billing | $3.98 a door$199 a month | $2.17 a door$325 a month | $1.75 a door$700 a month | 80 doors |
| DoorLoop Connect$4.00 per unit a month, minimum $299 (yearly); $4.80 and $359 monthly | $5.98 a door$299 a month | $4 a door$600 a month | $4 a door$1,600 a month | 75 doors |
| Yardi Breeze$1 per unit a month, $100 minimum a month, on an annual agreement | $2 a door$100 a month | $1 a door$150 a month | $1 a door$400 a month | 100 doors |
| Yardi Breeze Premier$1 per unit a month, $400 minimum a month, terms and minimums apply | $8 a door$400 a month | $2.67 a door$400 a month | $1 a door$400 a month | 400 doors |
Computed from yearly-billing prices on the vendors' pages, read 19 October 2026: monthly bill = the larger of the minimum and rate times doors; DoorLoop One drops to $1.50 for each door above 100.
The minimum turns a flat headline rate into a falling curve. Below the break-even point you pay the minimum whatever your size, so each extra door you add is free until the rate takes over; above it the curve goes flat at the headline. That is why a 50-door company and a 400-door company can pay very different per-door prices for the same plan.
Under 100 doors, compare minimums before rates: they are what you will actually pay.
AppFolio publishes per-unit rates of $1.49 (Core), $3.20 (Plus) and $5.00 (Max) a month, and footnotes each: a minimum spend and a 50 unit minimum apply. The 50-unit floor means AppFolio does not sell to a company below 50 doors at these rates, and without the minimum spend no bill can be computed at any size, so it is not drawn above.
Rentvine's page says "as low as $1.50 per unit" and asks you to request pricing, with a one-time setup fee that covers full-service migration and a dedicated onboarding specialist. Rentec Direct publishes Starter at a flat $25 a month for up to 10 properties, and Pro and PM from $50 a month billed annually, with larger portfolios priced by an on-page calculator. Buildium publishes "starting at" monthly prices for each plan rather than a per-unit rate.
1. What is the minimum monthly spend, in dollars, at my door count? 2. At how many doors does the per-unit rate start to apply? 3. Is there a one-time setup or onboarding fee, and how much? 4. What does each incoming tenant payment cost: ACH, card, and who pays? 5. Is the price for yearly or monthly billing, and what is the contract term? 6. Does the price change if we also manage community associations?
Buildium prices payment processing by plan: incoming EFT is $2.35 a transaction on Essential, $1.35 on Growth, and free for the first 12 months then $0.60 on Premium. A business bank account costs $99 to set up on Essential; Growth includes 10 and Premium 100. DoorLoop Connect lists free incoming ACH payments. Yardi Breeze states no onboarding, training or support fees.
Whether the company or the tenant carries that fee is a setting in most of these products and a policy decision for the company; the published per-transaction price is what we can state.
A flat $25 a month for up to 10 properties, published, with a two-week free trial.
$1 a door with a $100 minimum: $100 a month at 50 doors, against $199 for DoorLoop One.
Connect adds a Receptionist Agent and free incoming ACH; Multiply adds maintenance and lease-renewal agents, per DoorLoop's page.
Both list community associations on their pricing pages, and Buildium prices association portfolios by phone; self-managed boards are priced on our HOA comparison instead.
Buildium publishes three plans from $62 a month and a free 14-day trial that needs no credit card.
Read 19 October 2026 from buildium.com/pricingAppFolio publishes per-unit rates from $1.49 a month for Core and states that a minimum spend and a 50 unit minimum apply.
Read 19 October 2026 from appfolio.com/pricingDoorLoop publishes its per-unit rate and its monthly minimum for every plan, and drops One to $1.50 per unit above 100 units on yearly billing.
Read 19 October 2026 from doorloop.com/pricingRentvine prices from as low as $1.50 per unit and includes full-service migration and a dedicated onboarding specialist in a one-time setup fee.
Read 19 October 2026 from rentvine.com/pricingRentec Direct publishes a flat $25 a month Starter plan for up to 10 properties and a two-week free trial.
Read 19 October 2026 from rentecdirect.com/pricingYardi Breeze lists residential pricing at $1 per unit a month with a $100 monthly minimum and no onboarding, training or support fees.
Read 19 October 2026 from yardibreeze.com/residential-featuresSome of these products also run association portfolios. The HOA software comparison prices the tools self-managed boards use, and the Florida firm register lists the 2,057 companies licensed to manage Florida associations.
Below property-manager scale, most apps are free and the fee question moves to the tenant.
free plans ComparisonHOA management software pricing, read from each vendorBanded by association size rather than by door.
$45 to $275 RegisterEvery licensed management firm in FloridaThe companies licensed to manage Florida associations, with licence numbers and dates.
2,057 firms VirginiaWho manages Virginia community associationsManagement portfolios reconstructed from the state association register.
portfoliosPrices were read from each vendor's own pricing page on 19 October 2026 and are quoted as published, including where a page contradicts itself. We did not buy, trial or operate any of these products for this page. Per-door costs use the yearly-billing price where a vendor publishes both. Monthly bill = the larger of the published minimum and the per-unit rate times doors, with DoorLoop One's $1.50 rate above 100 doors applied as its page states. Vendors that publish a rate without a minimum amount, or a floor without a price, are described and not computed.
Dwellory. "Property management software under 500 doors: the minimum monthly spend decides more than the per-door price." Computed from each vendor's own pricing page, read on the date stated, retrieved 2026-10-19. https://dwellory.org/compare/pm-software-under-500-doors/
Quote the read date with any price. Vendors change their pricing pages without notice, and these figures are as published on that date.
The same method, applied to registers in other professions. FreightProbe, the ELD and carrier-compliance register, read the same way. GrantProbe, public grant programmes, enumerated from the awarding bodies.